New Moon in Libra: Technology and the client

As astrologers we each have our style, preferences, and orientation for our practice. Every month, we choose a question about our professional astrology practice, and collect your responses here.
Katerusko

OPA supporter
Full Name: Kate Rusko

New Moon in Libra: Technology and the client

Postby Katerusko » Sun Oct 02, 2016 12:24 am

Kay Taylor

I’ve been practicing full time for 32 years so these new technologies came in during my years, although originally I did also offer telephone sessions as people referred friends from other states or moved themselves. I now offer telephone/Skype sessions and teach via webinar/video apps. Skype allows an inexpensive format for international clients which I love. The old long distance phone rates were prohibitive. However, I don’t love having Skype video sessions. The quality is often iffy to distant locations, and the process of looking at the charts on my computer screen while offering the session seems a bit more challenging. I don’t feel completely engaged empathically with a client in the way I might when they are in person. I have to make a point of looking at the camera lens from time to time as I speak as I know I’m staring at the charts not the person. I actually feel I maintain better rapport on an audio skype call. However, I allow the client to choose. Many of them really like the video calls. 

Alexandra Karacostas

Q: With the advent of Skype, Google Hangouts, Zoom, etc, readings are no longer limited to in-person consultations or phone calls. 

If you have been a long time practitioner, how, if at all, has this affect the way you do your work? What are the pros and cons?
A: About 85% of my work is through the phone and sometimes through Skype. I am deeply grateful for these options because it allows me to connect with all of my clients around the world and to travel frequently. Thank you technology!